

**FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE** August 2, 2016 Contact: Ellen Weiss eweiss@biophysics.org

# **Biophysical Society Names 2017 Award Recipients**

Rockville, MD — The Biophysical Society is pleased to announce the recipients of its 2017 Society awards. These awards are very competitive in nature and are intended to recognize Society members for excellence in biophysics. The 2017 winners will be honored at the Society's  $61^{st}$  Annual Meeting at the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center in New Orleans, Louisiana, February 11 - 15, 2017. The recipient and the reason that individual is being recognized is listed below for each award.

Julie Biteen, University of Michigan, will receive the Margaret Oakley Dayhoff Award her creative work in real-time, nanometer-scale measurements of subcellular motion in bacteria. This award honors the memory of Margaret Dayhoff, former President of the Biophysical Society, and is given to a woman who holds very high promise or has achieved prominence while developing the early stages of a career in biophysical research within the purview and interest of the Biophysical Society.

James Bowie, University of California, Los Angeles, will receive the Anatrace Membrane Protein Award for his impact to the field of protein biochemistry and biophysics and his leadership in the field of membrane protein folding and stability. Funded by Anatrace Inc., this award recognizes an outstanding investigator who has made a significant contribution to the field of membrane protein research.

**Enrique De La Cruz**, Yale University, will receive the **Emily M. Gray Award** for his promotion of diversity in science and education in biophysics and his tireless efforts as an inspiring ambassador for biophysics. The Emily M. Gray Award is given for significant contributions to education in biophysics.

**Donald Ingber**, Harvard University, will receive the **Founders Award** for his pioneering work in leveraging sophisticated physics-based approaches to address fundamental questions in cytoskeletal mechanics that have enabled profound discoveries in cell biology. Established by the Society, this award is given to scientists for outstanding achievement in any area of biophysics. These achievements are often reflected in the acceptance of and use by others in the field, either promptly or over a period of years.

Shinichi Ishiwata, Waseda University, Japan, will receive the Kazuhiko Kinosita Award in Single Molecule Biophysics for his many important

## OFFICERS

President Suzanne Scarlata Worcester Polytechnic Institute

President-Elect Lukas Tamm University of Virginia

Past-President Edward Egelman University of Virginia

Secretary Frances Separovic University of Melbourne

Treasurer Paul Axelsen University of Pennsylvania

Executive Officer Rosalba Kampman Biophysical Society, Rockville

## COUNCIL

Olga Boudker Jane Clarke Bertrand Garcia-Moreno Ruth Heidelberger Kalina Hristova Robert Nakamoto Arthur Palmer Gabriela Popescu Joseph D. Puglisi Michael Pusch Erin Sheets Joanna Swain

### **BIOPHYSICAL JOURNAL**

Editor-in-Chief Leslie Loew

### **COMMITTEE CHAIRS**

Awards Betsy Komives Early Careers Bert Tanner Education Gina MacDonald Finance Paul Axelsen Inclusion and Diversity Marina Ramirez-Alvarado **International Relations** Daumantas Matulis **Member Services** Frances Separovic Membership Juliette Lecomte Nominating Erin Sheets **Professional Opportunities** for Women (CPOW) Gabriela Popescu **Public Affairs** Edward Egelman Publications **Olaf Anderson Thematic Meetings Richard Aldrich** 

contributions to the biophysical studies of motor proteins at the single-molecule level. The Award, founded in 2016, recognizes outstanding researchers for their exceptional contributions in advancing the field of single molecule biophysics. This award honors the life and work of Professor Kazuhiko Kinosita, Jr., who helped to establish the field. The award is intended to encourage investigators, to promote further developments in single molecule biophysics, to advance the type of cross-disciplinary research that is characteristic of this field, and to elevate an appreciation of single molecule studies among scientists in general.

**Sarah Keller**, University of Washington, will receive the **Avanti Award in Lipids** for her seminal work that has contributed to the understanding of phase behavior of multicomponent lipid membranes. Avanti Polar Lipids, Inc., established this award to recognize an investigator for outstanding contributions to our understanding of lipid biophysics.

Ahmet Yiddiz, University of California, Berkeley, will receive the Michael and Kate Bárány Award for his pioneering work in high-precision single molecule fluorescence and force microscopy to investigate the molecular mechanisms of cell motility. The award is intended to recognize an outstanding contribution to biophysics by a person who has not achieved the rank of full professor at the time of nomination.

The Biophysical Society, founded in 1958, is a professional, scientific Society established to encourage development and dissemination of knowledge in biophysics. The Society promotes growth in this expanding field through its annual meeting, monthly journal, and committee and outreach activities. Its 9000 members are located throughout the U.S. and the world, where they teach and conduct research in colleges, universities, laboratories, government agencies, and industry. For more information on these awards, the Society, or the 2017 Annual Meeting, visit <u>www.biophysics.org.</u>